RESIDENTIAL BUILDING
S 2008
RESIDENTIAL BUILDING
S 2008
RESIDENTIAL BUILDING
S 2008

Spatial strategy and integration

A former farm, a 2000 sqm site on a gently sloping hill with an excellent view, strict urban planning regulations that only allow saddle-roofed buildings in the context of typical colourless peripheral townhouses with similar roofs with PVC windows in all conceivable sizes and proportions - all these were the challenges of a building project that questioned the client's desire for individuality.

The starting point was to build and live in a house that respects tradition meaningfully but at the same time offers an individual and contemporary style. The reinterpretation of the contextual architectural language was intended to realize not only innovation and functionality but also new building conditions through recyclable materials and the use of modern energy solutions.

A simple geometry was chosen for the house, combining two fixed volumes, which not only preserve the view of the neighbouring houses of the valley, but also improve it. 

The building is dominated by two main rooms: the living room as a lively centre and the private bedrooms. The living room is an open space with large windows that exposes the view of the village and follows the hill with divided levels. The private rooms are on one level at the side. These smaller rooms with efficient room division stand in contrast to the large open living rooms and create a quiet and comfortable architecture.

The volume with the common rooms is characterised by the slate façade and the slate stone roof. The urban integration of the sloping roof and the vertical shift to the slope create a volume reminiscent of a modern monolith, encased in a 400 million year old material whose silky texture harmonises perfectly with the surrounding environment.

In 2009, the building was included in the programme by the Bavarian Chamber of Architecture as part of the "Sustainable Architecture" sightseeing tour and in the list of exemplary buildings "Energy-efficient Building in Bavaria".

CLIENT

Familie Schierle

CATEGORY

RESIDENTIAL BUILDING

LOCATION

GERZEN

YEAR

2005 – 2007

PHOTOGRAPHER

FINE RESULT, Rathschek Schiefer

AREA

BGF 300 m2

PROJECT STATUS

Built

RELATED PROJECTS

HAUS
S 2008
HAUS
S 2008
HAUS
S 2008

Räumliche Strategie und Integration

Ein ehemaliger Bauernhof, ein 2000 m2 großes Gelände, auf einem sanften Hügelhang mit hervorragendem Blick, strenge städtebauliche Vorschriften, die nur Satteldachgebäude zulassen im Kontext von typischen farblosen Randstadthäusern mit ebensolchen Dächern mit PVC-Fenstern in allen erdenklichen Größen und Proportionen – das alles waren die Herausforderungen eines Bauprojektes, das den Wunsch des Bauherrn nach Individualität in Frage stellte.

Ein Haus zu bauen und zu bewohnen, das Tradition sinnvoll respektiert, aber gleichzeitig einen individuellen und zeitgenössischen Stil bietet, war der Ausgangspunkt. Die Neuinterpretation der kontextuellen Architektursprache sollte neben Innovation und Funktionalität auch neue Baubedingungen durch recycelbare Materialien und den Einsatz moderner Energielösungen realisieren.

Für das Haus wurde eine einfache Geometrie gewählt, die zwei feste Volumen kombiniert, die es ermöglichen, den Blick der Nachbarhäuser auf das Tal nicht nur zu erhalten, sondern auch zu verbessern. 

Das Gebäude wird von zwei Haupträumen dominiert: dem Wohnraum als lebendiges Zentrum und den privaten Schlafräumen. Der Wohnraum ist ein offener Raum mit großen Fenstern, der den Blick auf das Dorf freilegt und dem Hügel mit geteilten Ebenen folgt. Die Privatzimmer befinden sich seitlich auf einer Ebene. Diese kleineren Räume mit effizienter Raumaufteilung stehen im Gegensatz zu den großen offenen Wohnräumen und schaffen eine ruhige und behagliche Architektur.

Das Volumen mit den Gemeinschaftsräumen ist von der Schieferfassade und dem Schiefersteindach geprägt. Durch die städtebauliche Integration des Schrägdaches und die vertikale Verschiebung zum Hang entsteht so ein Volumen, das an einen modernen Monolithen erinnert, umhüllt von einem 400 Millionen Jahre alten Material, dessen seidige Textur perfekt mit dem Umfeld harmoniert.

2009 wurde das Gebäude von der Architekturkammer Bayern im Rahmen der Besichtigungstour “Nachhaltige Architektur” in das Programm aufgenommen sowie in die Liste beispielhafter Bauten “Energieeffizientes Bauen in Bayern”.

KUNDE

Familie Schierle

KATEGORIE

WOHNHAUS

ORT

GERZEN

JAHR

2005 – 2007

FOTOGRAF

FINE RESULT, Rathschek Schiefer

FLÄCHE

BGF 300 m2

PROJEKTSTATUS

realisiert

RELATED PROJECTS