RESIDENTIAL BUILDING
AMEISENBERG
RESIDENTIAL BUILDING
AMEISENBERG
RESIDENTIAL BUILDING
AMEISENBERG

Unconventional design strategy

Staetzling, a village near the city of Augsburg in the south of Germany and situated directly on the banks of the Lech, is characterised by a unique location and a magnificent view of the neighbouring city. 

The building plot itself forms a very small area on a steep hill facing south. The location of the surrounding buildings prevents the use of the southern garden. In order to transfer the qualities of the location to the property, the design set itself the task of creating a view and generating a flat garden in the south via the architecture itself.

THE IDEA

The core idea of the design is therefore to "raise" the house and place it directly "in" the hill. By turning the living room cantilever by only 5 degrees to the east, the view from the living room can be directed to the opposite apple tree garden instead of a three-storey residential house from the 1960s. 

This unconventional design strategy not only convinced building owners and authorities, but also offered spatial advantages. Below the living room there is an open carport for two vehicles, above the living room there is a beautiful 55m² roof terrace with a fantastic view of the city of Augsburg. 

THE ENERGY CONCEPT

The use of recyclable materials and the inclusion of energy saving concepts are fully integrated into this project. The large windows on the south façade allow maximum use of natural light and at the same time use the air currents that rise up the hill to ventilate the interiors in summer. 

CLIENT

 Familie Winkler-Schmied

CATEGORY

RESIDENTIAL BUILDING

LOCATION

Augsburg 

YEAR

2005 – 2006

PHOTOGRAPHER

Thomas Stefan

AREA

GFA 225m2

PROJECT STATUS

Built

RELATED PROJECTS

HAUS
AMEISENBERG
HAUS
AMEISENBERG
HAUS
AMEISENBERG

Unkonventionelle Designstrategie

Stätzling, ein Dorf in der Nähe der Stadt Augsburg im Süden von Deutschland und direkt am Lechufer gelegen, zeichnet eine einzigartige Lage aus sowie ein herrlicher Ausblick auf die benachbarte Stadt. 

Das Baugrundstück selbst bildet ein sehr kleines Areal auf einem steilen Hügel, der nach Süden ausgerichtet ist. Die Lage der umliegenden Gebäude verhindert eine Nutzung des Südgartens. Um die Qualitäten der Lage auf das Grundstück zu übertragen stellte sich der Entwurf die Aufgabe, die Schaffung einer Aussicht und die Generierung eines flachen Gartens im Süden über die Architektur selbst zu lösen.

DIE IDEE

Die Kernidee des Entwurfes ist daher, das Haus “anzuheben” und direkt “in” den Hügel zu stellen. Durch die Drehung der Wohnzimmerauskragung um nur 5 Grad nach Osten kann der Blick aus dem Wohnraum auf den gegenüberliegenden Apfelbaumgarten statt auf ein dreigeschossiges Wohnhaus aus den 60er Jahren gerichtet werden. 

Diese unkonventionelle Designstrategie überzeugte nicht nur Bauherren und Behörden, sondern bot auch räumliche Vorteile. Unterhalb des Wohnraumes befindet sich somit ein offener Carport für zwei Fahrzeuge, über dem Wohnraum eine schöne 55m² große Dachterrasse mit fantastischem Blick auf die Stadt Augsburg. 

DAS ENERGIEKONZEPT

Die Verwendung von recycelbaren Materialien und die Einbeziehung von Energiesparkonzepten sind vollständig in dieses Projekt integriert. Die großen Fenster an der Südfassade ermöglichen eine maximale Nutzung des natürlichen Lichts und nutzen gleichzeitig die Strömungen, die den Hügel hinaufsteigen, um die Innenräume im Sommer zu belüften. 

KUNDE

 Familie Winkler-Schmied

KATEGORIE

WOHNHAUS

ORT

Augsburg 

JAHR

2005 – 2006

FOTOGRAF

Thomas Stefan

FLÄCHE

BGF 225m2

PROJEKTSTATUS

Realisiert

RELATED PROJECTS