GUGGENHEIM
HELSINKI 2016
GUGGENHEIM
HELSINKI 2016
GUGGENHEIM
HELSINKI 2016
GUGGENHEIM
HELSINKI 2016

The Light House Competition entry Guggenheim Helsinki

As a walk-in museum landscape and urban development concept for the waterfront promenade of the Helsinki harbour basin, a sculptural architecture unfolds and becomes a new landmark with a view over the water. Dynamic free forms interpret the maritime environment and allow spatial concepts, spatial references, openness and closeness, public space and cultural life to merge in an unusual way.

Like a large wave, two bowls form a large, flowing freeform that surge upwards and form a large sail. Front and back consist of a transparent façade that allows views in and out and brings art into everyday life. On the water side, the façade is medially played with and acts like a large lighthouse as a gesture of welcome into the distance. 

The concept approaches the task under the aspect of urban integration and landscape planning. The design and orientation take into consideration the manifold heights and strands as well as visual axes of the urban environment and interact with surrounding cultural buildings and churches. The positioning and newly created accessibility to the water create a link between the city, the park and the banks. As a great sculptural gesture, the design lends urban identity.

The elevation of the building, its accessibility from the park and its opening to the water create a public space with exceptional qualities. An organic play of landscape, water, squares and terraces, where high culture and everyday culture merge.

The interior is determined by organic forms and flowing sequences of spaces that develop from the large reception hall upwards. Overlaps, galleries and staircases convey dynamics and the experience of new spatial perspectives. The complex spatial organism is played by contemporary art, supplemented by digital exhibition didactics.

Artist in Residence in the form of temporary studios not only promotes young artists, but also gives visitors the opportunity to participate in artistic processes of creation. Affiliated galleries serve as a platform for young artists to show their work and establish contact with the public and future gallery owners.

 

In addition to the exhibition area of over 4980 sqm, exhibition galleries of over 4980 sqm, rooms for programmes and events of over 770 sqm, the room programme also includes conference and training rooms, offices, laboratories, storage areas, mobile stage platforms, areas for gastronomy and retail, multi-purpose zones, service areas, ticketing and visitor management.

CLIENT

Guggenheim Foundation

CATEGORY

Museum

LOCATION

HELSINKI / FINNLAND

YEAR

2016

MEDIA

BENZ & ZIEGLER

AREA

GFA 12.340 m²

PROJECT STATUS

Competition Entry

RELATED PROJECTS

GUGGENHEIM
HELSINKI 2016
GUGGENHEIM
HELSINKI 2016
GUGGENHEIM
HELSINKI 2016
GUGGENHEIM
HELSINKI 2016

The Light House Wettbewerbsbeitrag Guggenheim Helsinki

Als begehbare Museumslandschaft und städtebauliches Konzept zur Erschließung der Uferpromenade des Hafenbeckens von Helsinki, entfaltet sich eine skulpturale Architektur und wird zur neuen Landmarke mit Blick über das Wasser. Dynamische Freiformen interpretieren das maritime Umfeld, und lassen Raumkonzepte, Raumbezüge, Offenheit und Geschlossenheit, öffentlicher Raum und kulturelles Leben auf ungewöhnliche Weise verschmelzen.

Gleich einer großen Welle bilden zwei Schalen eine große, fließende Freiform, die in die Höhe branden und ein großes Segel formen. Vorder- und Rückseite bestehen aus einer transparenten Fassade, die Ein- und Ausblicke zulassen und die Kunst in den Alltag tragen. Wasserseits ist die Fassade medial bespielt und wirkt wie ein großer Leuchtturm als Willkommensgeste in die Ferne. 

Das Konzept nähert sich der Aufgabe unter dem Aspekt der städtebaulichen Integration und Landschaftsplanung. Entwurf und Ausrichtung berücksichtigen die vielfältigen Höhen und Stränge sowie Sichtachsen der urbanen Umgebung und interagieren mit umliegenden Kulturgebäuden und Kirchen. Die Positionierung und die neu geschaffene Zugänglichkeit zum Wasser schaffen ein Bindeglied von Stadt, Park und Ufer. Als große skulpturale Geste verleiht der Entwurf städtebauliche Identität.

Die Erhöhung des Gebäudes, seine Begehbarkeit vom Park aus sowie seine Öffnung zum Wasser, schaffen einen öffentlichen Raum mit außergewöhnlichen Qualitäten. Ein organisches Spiel aus Landschaft, Wasser, Plätzen und Terrassen, wo Hochkultur und Alltagskultur ineinanderfließen.

Die Innenräume sind von organischen Formen und fließenden Raumfolgen bestimmt, die sich von der großen Empfangshalle nach oben hin entwickeln. Überschneidungen, Galerien und Treppen vermitteln Dynamik und die Erfahrung neuer Raumperspektiven. Bespielt wird der komplexe Raumorganismus von zeitgenössischer Kunst, ergänzt von einer digitalen Ausstellungsdidaktik.

Artist in Residence in Form von temporären Ateliers fördern nicht nur junge Künstler, sondern geben Besuchern die Möglichkeit, an künstlerischen Entstehungsprozessen teilzuhaben. Angeschlossene Galerien werden den Nachwuchskünstlern zur Plattform für Vermarktung und Kontakt mit Publikum und zukünftigen Galeristen.

 

Neben der Fläche für die Ausstellung über 4980 m²,  Ausstellungsgalerien über 4980 , Räume für Programme und Veranstaltungen über 770 , beinhaltet das Raumprogramm mitunter Konferenz- und Schulungsräume, Büroräume, Labore, Lagerflächen, bewegliche Bühnenplattformen, Flächen für Gastronomie und Einzelhandel, Mehrzweckzonen, Servicebereiche, Ticketing und Besuchermanagement.

KUNDE

Guggenheim Foundation

KATEGORIE

Museum

ORT

HELSINKI / FINNLAND

JAHR

2016

BILDER / FOTOS / SKIZZEN

BENZ & ZIEGLER

FLÄCHE

BGF 12.340 m²

PROJEKTSTATUS

Wettbewerbsbeitrag

RELATED PROJECTS