AMANDLA SAFE HUB
BERLIN 2019
AMANDLA SAFE HUB
BERLIN 2019
AMANDLA SAFE HUB
BERLIN 2019

Social empowerment with a passion for football

Safe Hub is a social project based at several locations in Cape Town in South Africa. It creates physical and emotional havens for young people by offering various opportunities all about the topic football. The project is organized by the non-governmental organization Amandla for which Benz & Ziegler have provided their expertise pro bono for years.

 

For the new Safe Hub project in Berlin-Wedding Amandla commissioned Benz & Ziegler to build a new sports facility located at Schulstraße and Ruheplatzstraße. The building will consist of two tied elements that represent the symbol of Safe Hub: two interlocking hands. The facades in glass and semipermeable wood expresses the transparency and openness of the pro-ject as a meeting place for all football enthusiasts.

Architecture opens a dialogue between young people and the urban community

The building will be subdivided in three functionally areas: Common places for sports activities, art projects and a training café will be built on the ground floor accessible for the entire city quarter. The first floor will be a semi-public area dedicated to socially disadvantaged children containing rooms for education and workshops as well as for sports and recreation. On the top two floors offices for the administration of Amandla and another socially committed institution will be located.

The project is funded by the Oliver Kahn Foundation.

CLIENT

AMANDLA

CATEGORY

Multifunctional Building

LOCATION

Berlin

YEAR

2017 – 2020

PHOTOGRAPHER

Benz & Ziegler

AREA

GFA 1.500 m²

PROJECT STATUS

In planning

RELATED PROJECTS

AMANDLA SAFE HUB
BERLIN 2019
AMANDLA SAFE HUB
BERLIN 2019
AMANDLA SAFE HUB
BERLIN 2019

Soziales Engagement mit Leidenschaft für Fußball

Safe Hub ist ein soziales Projekt, das an mehreren Standorten in Kapstadt, Südafrika mittels verschiedener Angebote rund um den Fußballsport physische und emotionale Rückzugsmöglichkeiten für junge Menschen schafft. Es wird organisiert von der Nichtregierungsorganisation Amandla, für die Benz & Ziegler ihre Expertise seit Jahren pro bono zur Verfügung stellten.

 

Für das neue Safe Hub Projekt in Berlin-Wedding beauftragte Amandla Benz & Ziegler nun mit einer Sportanlage, die einen großen Neubau an der Schulstraße Ecke Ruheplatzstraße vorsieht. Das Gebäude bildet sich aus zwei verschränkten Elementen, die das Symbol von Safe Hub – zwei ineinandergreifende Hände – aufnimmt. Die Glas- und halbdurchlässigen Holzfassaden stehen für Transparenz und die Offenheit des Projekts als Treffpunkt für alle Fußball-Begeisterten.

Architektur eröffnet Dialog zwischen Jugendlichen und Stadtquartier

Funktional ist der Bau in drei Bereiche untergliedert: Auf Erdgeschossniveau entstehen Gemeinschaftsorte für Sportaktivitäten, Kunstprojekte und ein Ausbildungscafé, die dem gesamten Stadtquartier zugänglich sind. In der oberen Etage bietet ein halböffentlicher Bereich sozial benachteiligten Kindern Räume sowohl für Erziehung und Workshops als auch für Sport und Erholung. In den obersten beiden Etagen sind Büros für die Verwaltung von Amandla sowie einer weiteren sozial engagierten Institution vorgesehen.

Das Projekt wird gefördert durch die Oliver Kahn Stiftung.

KUNDE

AMANDLA

KATEGORIE

Multifunktionsgebäude

ORT

Berlin

JAHR

2017 – 2020

FOTOGRAF

Benz & Ziegler

FLÄCHE

BGF 1.500 m²

PROJEKTSTATUS

In Planung

RELATED PROJECTS